What’s next?

The biggest reason I started this blog wasn’t to educate people about what uterine inversions are.  It’s one of those complications that you really want whomever is helping you deliver your baby to know how to address, but really something you don’t want to know could happen unless it actually does happen.

I loved my state of ignorance to all sorts of potential birth-complications.  Unfortunately, after having a freak-only-happens-once-in-a-while type complications, I got to learn about so much more.  I also learned how crappy the information available to me was.  That aspect was tough for me, I like researching, reading, learning all I can about what I could be facing and there isn’t much out there for uterine inversions, nor is there much data for my doctors to rely on for me when I started asking questions.

My goal is to (hopefully) help others who’ve been through the same sort of experience by sharing my own journey of having an inversion and hopefully being able to have another baby successfully.  When I went into surgery, I initially was told they would not be able to save my uterus.  When I woke up, I was told they were able to save it and I should be able to have more children, but I still had my concerns.  Afterall, I’d just seen the “baby house” outside of my body, I think I was right to have my doubts.

We followed doctors orders and waited 2 years before we started trying for another child.  I got pregnant immediately in our first month of trying.  Unfortunately, that was short-lived (about 4 or 5 days) before I started bleeding and cramping.  I was told it was a “Chemical Pregnancy”, which is an extremely early loss.  The “positive” pregnancy test lines were getting fainter and fainter instead of darker.  Apparently, chemical pregnancies are super common, but most women only know about them if they are actively trying to conceive and testing early or watching the calendar closely to make sure their cycle is on track.

I was a bit frustrated.  Going through a chemical pregnancy was hard –  my hormones were all out of whack and I was hurting for about a week from the cramping.  We didn’t really try during that next cycle, I was disappointed and worried that my uterus would somehow prevent an embryo from “sticking.”

Thankfully, I didn’t have to wait long at all.  The following cycle, I did manage to get pregnant again and, so far, it has stuck with me.  I’m only 5 or 6 weeks along at this point, but that’s further than I made it last time.  I also had a positive pregnancy test earlier too than I did last time, and the line was darker as I continued to test.

We are excited, but nervous.  My husband and I went through a rough recovery after CJ was born.  My joke is now, we know too much about general potential complications with me and/or with the baby.  We are being cautiously optimistic this go-around.  Aside from my boobs being sore, I haven’t had any other symptoms yet, so it is all a bit surreal at this point.  My first doctor’s appt is in a couple of weeks, which will hopefully leave me with a few more details and feeling more secure that this is actually happening for us :).

  1. #1 by krystle on January 12, 2014 - 6:01 pm

    I have 3 daughters, my oldest is 8 and I have a 5 and 4 yr. old……..after my 2nd daughter the doctor had pulled my uterus inside out while trying to pull out the placenta……it was a horrifying experience, my doctor hadn’t mentioned not getting pregnant again, so of course I get pregnant with my 3rd and needless to say found a new doctor who said because of my complications with my last delivery that If I carried this baby till term I should have a tubal done at the same time as my C-section. oh how I wish I’d never done that….I believe ur body heals if u let it and believe now, 4 yrs later that my uterus is fine and could carry another baby, but of course like u said, there wasn’t much info available to me at the time and I just took my doctors word for it and had my tubes tied.
    now im not with the father of my kids and am with an AMAZING man who I’d love more than anything to make a baby for and can’t. FRUSTRATED!!!

  2. #2 by Montserrat on January 15, 2016 - 2:01 am

    I am very curious to know this:
    1) did you have an uterine inversion and then got pregnant with baby #2?
    2) why did you have surgery performed?
    3) how long did it take you to conceive after your uterine inversion.

    I can’t find anything on this. How long does it take for the body to heal after this event and then get pregnant?
    I had this happen to me and we’ve been trying for five months with nothing. I’m depressed at the thought of never having a baby again.
    Thanks.

    • #3 by katielynn221 on January 15, 2016 - 10:16 am

      Hey there! Great questions!

      1 – Yes, I had a UI with my first. Then, I got pregnant about 2 years after I delivered my first child. Unfortunately, that was a very brief pregnancy that resulted in a miscarriage. 2 months after my miscarriage, I got pregnant with my second child. That pregnancy went very well, and I had a planned c-section. During the planned c-section, my uterus tried to invert on itself again when the placenta was supposed to detach, resulting in the OB manually stabilizing my uterus and manually removing the placenta. Since it was a c-section it was a minor hiccup and easy solution.
      2 – I had to have surgery during my first UI because the doctor was unable to manually replace my uterus and the hemorrhaging was swift and aggressive. Frequently, an OB is able to use their hand/arm to manually manipulate the uterus back to where it belongs inside the body and ensure the placenta properly detaches. Unfortunately, (and I was conscious for this so I remember it), the UI was so strong and my body was contracting down so hard and the loss of blood was so bad, that the safest thing to do was take me to the OR and do an incision (vertical from belly button to pubic bone) to better access everything. Additionally, the general anesthesia relaxed my muscles enough to make them stop contracting down and stop fighting the doctor.
      3 – We conceived after 2 years (24 months) and had waited that long under the guidance of my OB. The first pregnancy post UI was a very early miscarriage, and a successful pregnancy followed 2 months later.

      I’m sorry that you have been through this as well and wish you all the best in trying to conceive!

Leave a Reply

