Pregnancy After Inversion: Week 11

I’m “officially” in week 11 this week and this week has been all about watching for blood.  I haven’t had any bad bleeding or cramping, but I have had some very light bleeding twice this week.  Due to having experienced a chemical pregnancy back in February, I know what the “bad” cramping and bleeding feels like.  None the less, it is highly alarming to see blood when you shouldn’t see blood, and worse, when it is red instead of brown (red=bad, brown=old, less worrisome).

Thankfully, the on call doctor was incredibly optimistic when she realized that I’d already had a great ultrasound at 9 weeks.  Apparently, after having a good early ultrasound, the likelihood of continuing a healthy pregnancy, regardless of spotting, is 90% or something.  Reason #3948347 why I love my OB practice, they give me data and facts and clear answers with every question or concern I have.  Given all of this, I decided to not rush into the office for a check up, especially since my next appointment is on Tuesday.  There is nothing that could be done to “save” the pregnancy if there is a major problem at this point, so we are waiting as long as I’m feeling good (and the light bleeding was very brief and has stopped).

Truthfully, I’m having an easier time not over-stressing this pregnancy.  I think it’s because I know that there is nothing that extra worrying will prevent or save.  I also feel like I have a better grasp on the difference between serious problems vs. problems that involve easy fixes.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to continue with that attitude as the pregnancy progresses, and as things continue to go well.  Now… I need to figure out a way to carry that attitude into all aspects of my life.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” ~Reinhold Niebuhr

  1. #1 by Clarabelle on October 8, 2014 - 12:39 pm

    That’s one of my favorites quotes. Reinhold Niebuhr ❤

Leave a Reply

