Pregnancy After Inversion: Birth Story for Baby #2

Baby RT is here!  He joined us December 11th via c-section and is perfect – all 9 lbs 2 oz of him (big baby!!!!).  It was very odd going into surgery in a planned fashion but nice being able to stay conscious through the whole thing.  That’s more than I could say for my first birth.

In many ways, this birth experience became the “Part 2” to my first birth experience.  I lucked out and pretty much had everyone (doctors, nurses) that I’d had when I delivered CJ and had surgery immediately following.  Considering CJ was born in Feb 2011 – that is pretty impressive!  It was great to have so many people involved who knew exactly how terrifying things briefly got after I delivered CJ and were very invested in a more pleasant birth experience this time.

Planning a c-section this time was the best decision I could have made.  All along, my OB felt very strongly that something wasn’t right about my uterus.  It was too malleable during the correction surgery, and he’d had other inversion patients to compare me to, so I put a lot of stock in his opinion.  This is a big part of why I wanted him doing my c-section, he knew my uterus and how it was unpredictable.

His instincts proved to be right.  During the c-section, while allowing the placenta to detach after delivering my son, the placenta once again tried to pull my uterus with it.  Thankfully, since we were already in a surgical situation, it was just a matter of manually placing my uterus back and manually separated the placenta.  The implications of this, though, being that had I attempted another vaginal delivery, I likely would have had another inversion (especially with a 9 lbs+ baby).

My recovery this time has been SO MUCH easier as a result of the c-section and, an added bonus, my doctor cleaned up my scar.  My incision from the first surgery was a vertical one, so they used the same incision line in order to prevent extra scarring and make things neater.  After 2 weeks, it already looks significantly better than last time.  I am already off of the pain meds and moving around really well, which was not something I would have even considered at this point after my first birth.

We did opt to have my tubes tied during the c-section (yet another bonus to going the planned c-section route).  I’m very content with our 2 healthy boys and, knowing that my uterus misbehaved during both births, I’m not wanting to have another situation where we play the guessing game off “Will my uterus try to jump ship again?”

I’m hoping to do a post comparing my new scar with my old one.  We are still adjusting to life with 2 kids and just trying to sleep on a regular basis at the moment – but I’ll get back to posting updates when I can!

  1. #1 by Dawn on October 20, 2014 - 2:29 pm

    Just wondering, if you do not mind sharing, who your doctor is? I had a similar first birth experience and am having trouble finding any medical professionals that have seen this before (including my own). I am contemplating a second pregnancy but can’t find anyone to talk to medically that has any experience with puerperal uterine inversion. I really feel I need to understand what I can to heal and to figure out whether second pregnancy is something I want to consider. Any help or guidance would be so much appreciated and thank you for sharing all of this.

    • #2 by katielynn221 on October 20, 2014 - 4:05 pm

      Hey Dawn! I’m in NC (in the US) – are you local? If so, I can definitely email you that info!

      Also, please feel free to post any other questions you may have – I will be happy to answer them based on my own experiences. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

